By-election in Haverstock: Labour councillor Abi Wood steps down

LABOUR councillor Abi Wood, the council’s former licensing chair, has today told her colleagues that she is standing down from the council. A by-election will now be called in Haverstock ward, presumably on December 12.

Her message to the Labour group this evening:

Dear all

After a great deal of thought, I’ve taken the decision to stand down as a councillor.

It’s been a real privilege to serve Haverstock residents alongside my ward colleagues Alison and Abdul and I know the ward will be safe in their hands in the future.

I’m proud to have been a member of this Labour Council and of what it has delivered for residents: new council housing, action to tackle the climate crisis and services to support the most vulnerable. It is all the more impressive that this has been achieved despite brutal budget cuts from central government. I’m also proud that at a time of deep concern and uncertainty caused by Brexit, our Labour group and Camden Council has been unequivocal in its support for the 60,000 EU citizens who live and work in our borough.

I’ve enjoyed working with colleagues in Labour Group and I wish you all the best for the future.

Abi